The Chick-fil-A Dilemma


photog credit budgetsavvydiva.com

I’ve recently seen all of this buzz about how hateful chick-fil-A is, how they spew nothing but venom, how so many people and businesses are in an uproar because Dan Cathy is a bigot.

So I’m not a huge fan of chick-fil-A anyways because I do not prefer to stuff my face with greasy fast food, but I’m also not quick to form an opinion about something before I have all of the facts.

I did some basic internet research that a 2nd grader could do in hopes of finding some rock solid evidence that Dan Cathy had been extremely discriminatory and hateful, and here is what I found.

An article written for and published by the Baptist Press; http://www.bpnews.net/bpnews.asp?id=38271,  

This article contains the grand statement that has gotten Chick-fil-A’s goose (or should I say chicken) in some hot water.

” Some have opposed the company’s support of the traditional family. “Well, guilty as charged,” said Cathy when asked about the company’s position.

“We are very much supportive of the family — the biblical definition of the family unit. We are a family-owned business, a family-led business, and we are married to our first wives. We give God thanks for that.

“We operate as a family business … our restaurants are typically led by families; some are single. We want to do anything we possibly can to strengthen families. We are very much committed to that,” Cathy emphasized.

“We intend to stay the course,” he said. “We know that it might not be popular with everyone, but thank the Lord, we live in a country where we can share our values and operate on biblical principles.” “ (Quotes taken from article linked above)

That’s it? From all of the outrageous comments I’ve read on facebook and twitter, I thought that he had blatantly refused to serve homosexuals. I thought he had joined in on the Westboro Baptist chorus and declared that God hates gay people.

But this, an opinion that resonates with many identifying with the Christian faith is just that. An opinion.

I did not grow up in a traditional family. My dad left my mom for another man when I was six. They had split custody with me up until he died when I was almost 14, so clearly I’ve seen my share of bigotry, hate crimes, and gay bashing in my short life. However, I’ve also grown up in America, where you’re supposed to be able to say anything you want, right?

I simply see a man trying to support what he believes in just like others who have completely differing views do.

What do you think? I enjoy hearing all sides and opinions and want to know your views on this issue.

 

 

Leave a Reply

