Confessions: Why I love AND hate Facebook


image from scientiamobile

I recently deleted my Facebook account.

OK, I actually just deactivated it because I don’t know if I can make it final.

It’s kind of like breaking up with a really nice guy who you don’t really like because he’s kind of needy, smells a little funny, and over all gets on your nerves, but he buys you things and has a cute smile, and he’s always available to accompany you anywhere you want to go so you decide to keep him on the back burner.

So with my Facebook floating in limbo awaiting it’s ultimate sentence, I want to weigh in on the pros and cons of these social networking avenue.

Here are the reasons why I love Facebook.

I don’t actually have to talk to anyone to know what is going on in their lives.

I am an introvert to the core. A homebody. A loner. I’ve gone to several movies alone. I get stressed out when I have to have a long conversation with anyone. I prefer quiet, calm, and singular situations. Facebook offers a connection with my friends and acquaintances that I could only get through this social media. I can know that my friend’s getting married, the she’s gotten a new job, that she’s having a kid, that he’s moving out west, what college he’s going to, and so on it goes. I can know all of these things without the stress of actually having to talk these people. I really like that.

I can communicate with more than one person with the ease of click

If I need to invite people to a surprise birthday party for my husband, I can create a group, select who I want to invite, and send it out, receive RSVPs, and plan in ease. If I didn’t have this, I would have to spend so much time locating the mobile numbers of our friends, calling them, leaving them messages, and awaiting a response. Who wants to do that? Definitely not me because I hate, HATE, hate talking on the phone. It’s the greatest waste of time to me. The FB feature makes my life incredibly simple.

I have a place to store my photos

I take gobs of photos. I mostly store them on my computer because I have yet to purchase a computer sticky thing, a.k.a. a flash drive, that has more than 4G on it. I know. I’m so 2009, I need to update soon. But until I do, FB offers a great way for me to privately store my pictures. I don’t share but about 10% of the pictures that I actually upload to FB. I don’t really care for a bunch of people that I’m not particularly close with seeing every photo I take, so I always select the “Only me” option that FB provides. This saves a lot of space on my computer. But on the flip side. If we suffer the great internet crash of 2013, then bye bye photos.

Here are the reasons that I HATE facebook

It’s like swimming in a community pool

Who truly likes to swim in a community pool? Really? If you do, surely you must not know that most people PEE in the pool. Yep, like little fish in a lake, you are swimming in excrement. Facebook is a lot like a community pool. A lot of people feel like spewing their written excrement on their statuses.  I do not care if you’re about to go to the grocery store, gym, mall, or anywhere. That to me says “I’m not going to be at home, please come and break in to my house.” OR “I don’t have enough going on in my life to write anything meaningful so please listen to me rant about nothing”

I also don’t want to see you complain every hour about how awful your life is. Clearly it is awful because you waste your day on Facebook instead of working at your job, reading a book, or getting outside to receive some vitamin D from the sun. If you are so stinking miserable, do something about it. Because trust me, no one on FB is wanting to read about it.

However, if you really do need help. Ask for it. Don’t become the little girl who cries wolf, because no one is going to know if you really need someone or if you are being your natural whining  self drowning in self pity waiting for someone to jump into the pool so you can pull them under with you.

Also, remember when FB was for college students only? I do. I couldn’t get a FB until I became a college freshman. Now, EVERYONE can have a FB. My mom, your grandpa, OH, and you want to know the latest? I have a FB friend who created one for their toddler. YEAH, their 2 year old who can clearly use a computer, write in sentences, and upload photos has a profile. But of course. I’m sorry, I’m not a parent yet, but that’s a pedophile’s dream and a seriously TERRIBLE idea.

Politics: poli= many /tics= blood sucking vermin

I understand that we are in an election year, but I don’t care who you are voting for. I’m not really into politics and if you are that’s OK, but do not be mean about it. I’ve seen people call Obama the devil, and I’ve seen someone belligerently condemn someone for supporting Romney. You’re not winning anyone to your side by being a bully, being ignorant, or by name calling. Grow up voters and be mature enough accept that not everyone is going to agree with you.

Cyber bullying

I have not been cyber bullied. However, I am a teacher, and I have had students that have been bullied. Bullying is despicable and infuriates me as well as breaks my heart. But when you can do it anonymously, that’s extremely cowardly and unnecessary. Parents raise your kids right for heaven’s sake.

So it appears that my feelings of hate for this social outlet certainly outweigh my feelings of love. To permanently break-up or not, that is the final question.

What are your feelings about Facebook?

One thought on “Confessions: Why I love AND hate Facebook

  1. Pingback: 15 Shameless Things We All Do on Facebook - Twenties Chic

Leave a Reply

