How do you go confidently?


Sometimes I feel this insatiable desire to go. To take off in one direction and not turn back. To explore. I want to not only see the world, but I want to experience it. I don’t consider myself a people person, but a culture person. I love seeing how others live. I love landscapes. I love consistent road trips minus bad traffic.

I still don’t know what I want to do when I grow up, but one thing is certain. I want to travel. If I haven’t been there, then I probably want to go there.

In my college capstone class, my professor talked about how he was drawn to an area. He moved there, and it was cathartic to his life. He was wiped free of many inhibitions, was able to achieve goals he never thought possible, and was joyful which I think is something a large percentage of people lack. He told us that if we are drawn to an area, to go there. To just simply go. Not necessarily move there, but to just absorb that place and culture, glean from it whatever we can.

I often feel drawn to places all over the globe, and I have definitely done more travelling in the last 12 months than I have in my whole life. But what do you do when you feel drawn to move somewhere?

Do you just pick up and start over? I think I had a gypsy in my family history somewhere, maybe that’s why I feel this coursing through my arteries.

I heard this quote in high school, and it has always stuck with me.

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined. As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler.” Henry David Thoreau

My question is, where do you start?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

