Medicated vs. Unmedicated Birth


As I am contemplating my upcoming labor and delivery, I debating over whether or not I want to go the medicated or un-medicated route.

Since this is my first time, I’m thinking that I want to labor at home as long as I can before going to the hospital. I’ve read that this can reduce the risk of using interventions, but I’m not too proud to say that I’ll be willing to get the epidural if I’m needing it. However, I do want to wait until I’m more than 4cm dilated because this can reduce the risk of having to have a C-section.

I found this video very interesting. This woman has had three births, two medicated and one un-medicated.

I’ve still got a while before I need to complete my birth plan, and I am fully aware that even with a birth plan things are subject to change, I was just wondering from you mamas and mamas-to-be, what are your thoughts on medicated vs. un-medicated labor and delivery?

6 thoughts on “Medicated vs. Unmedicated Birth

  1. I had 4 unmedicated and 2 medicated. Best thing is unmedicated. The very second the baby is born you forget the pain. The baby is so alert, such bonding, such joy. But either way, a baby is a gift from God and it is so so wonderful.

  2. Fatima – I had both of my girls unmedicated using the Bradley Method – I highly recommend that you and your husband get as informed as possible as you make your decision! Husband Coached Childbirth was the most helpful book that we read in preparation. My husband was my “birth coach” and he was amazing, I could not have done it without him.

    I would love to talk to you about my experience and I can share with you all the information I have gotten from my research. I am currently studying to be an Informed Beginnings childbirth instructor so it’s fresh on my mind 🙂

    • Oh wow Summer, that would be great! I have been reading about the Bradley method some this week, but I’m still just getting familiar with it. My husband has been so, so supportive and I know he’ll be a wonderful birth partner too.

  3. Hey Fatima, this is Brittany from the Cove i am 6 weeks pregnant and i already know what i want to do. I want to do an un-medicated water birth. I think it would be a really cool experience to bring my baby int this world via water birth, I have done a little bit of research. and i am happy with my choice. i just have to make sure my doctor is ok with water birthing.

    • I’ve considered that option too. I decided that since it’s my first time, and I have no idea what to expect that I’m going to opt for a traditional birth with the option of using an epidural if the pain is too much. My doctor is really great and wants me to stay at home as long as I can while I am laboring, to reduce stress and interventions. He won’t do water births, but there are some MDs in the area that will. I know that most midwifes in the area a cool with it, and some of the hospital rooms come equipped with a tub that is offered on a first come first serve basis. I wish that the birthing center in our area was up and running because that would be a very cozy choice, but you can rent birthing tubs if you want to do it at home and want more room than your bathroom tub. Best wishes on your journey!

Leave a Reply

