PREGNANCY:20 Weeks


20 weeks 5 daysHALF WAY THERE. Hopefully.

                                                     20 weeks 5 days
                                       HALF WAY THERE. Hopefully.

How far along: 20 weeks
Total Weight Gain: +6  pounds so far. Right on track!
Stretchmarks: None. Neither my mom, aunt, nor grandmas had them so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’m that blessed with collagen filled skin too.
Sleep: I get sleepy at 8:00p.m. every night, and usually make it to bed around 11:00p.m. I sleep anywhere from 8-10 hours usually with a middle of the night potty break.
Best Moment This Week: Date night with my sweet husband.
Movement: Oh so much movement, especially when I play the piano or guitar. This is my favorite part of being pregnant.
Gender: GIRL!
Belly Button: Yes, I have one. Oh and it is in.
What I Miss: Being able to walk without crazy pains shooting down my back and leg. Pinched nerves and having this little cutie cuddled up to my sciatic nerve are making movement difficult. Praise God for chiropractors!
Cravings: Apple Juice.
What I am Looking Forward to: Warm weather. None of my pants can button over my belly, so I’m having to use the belly band to hide my unbuttoned jeans. I can’t wait until it’s warm enough for me to wear dresses every day.
Milestones: Ummmm… I’ve made it half way through this pregnancy! WHAT?! I only have a little over four months to go until I get to meet our miracle!

Reading: Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin. My doula lent me this book, and I’ve enjoyed reading all of the beautiful and positive birth stories contained within it’s pages. A particular quote that struck me this week goes something to the effect of -Do not think of a labor as pain, but as a sensation that requires all of your attention- I have paraphrased that some, but it has helped even with some of the uncomfortable pains that I’ve had to deal with as my belly gets larger and back hurts worse.

I feel like I’ve been pretty level headed headed and blessed with even emotions for most of this pregnancy, well until this week. I’ve been a grump most days, and then yesterday I felt overwhelmed with love for every human being I saw. I still haven’t had a big ugly, snot streaming cry yet, but I’m also not someone who cries often.

Did you feel like the second half of your pregnancy went faster than your first or the other way around?

 

4 thoughts on “PREGNANCY:20 Weeks

  1. Halfway! How exciting! 6 months into my pregnancy, I got put on bed rest. It made the weight come on a little quicker, which made my doctors happy. But it wasn’t long until I was able to be active again up until he was born. Feeling that little one and being able to see your shirt move (or a plate balanced on your belly wobble) is completely the best! Watching others face light up is priceless :). Praying your back pain eases up. I had severe back probs throughout my pregnancy, and exceptionally difficult in labor. I tried to stay off my back as much as possible because it hurt so much. That stuff to induce made it hurt so bad. As soon as he was born, all was back to normal! You will get there before you know it, and will only be focused on that adorable little pair of hands!! You and Jon will do great!!

Leave a Reply

