PREGNANCY: 21 Weeks


21 Weeks 4 Days

                                                         21 Weeks 4 Days

How far along? 21 weeks and 4 Days in this picture.

Total weight gain: +8lbs, I feel like it’s 20 though.
Maternity clothes? Sometimes. I have two pairs of maternity pants that I wear sometimes and a couple of maternity shirts. I can still wear my pants, I just have to hide the fact they’re unbuttoned with my belly band. Practically all of my shirts still fit. In this photo I’m wearing the only jeans that I can button and a maternity shirt.
Stretch marks? NONE!
Sleep: Not too bad, just not enough. I’ve never been so exhausted in my entire life. I keep waiting for this wonderful burst of energy you’re supposed to receive 2nd trimester. Maybe it’ll make it’s appearance in the next 6 weeks? I’m going to see if my Dr. will check my iron levels to see if they are low.
Best moment this week: We had our first legitimate snow of the season here in my MOUNTAIN community, and two weeks before spring arrives! I. love. snow. But now I’m ready for some warmth since I’m getting too big for most of my warm clothes.
Miss Anything?: Being able to workout and um, well, move like a normal person. The pinched nerves in my back are, well, getting on my nerves. Pun completely intended.
Movement: I’m pretty sure she’ll be a gymnast. She’s been doing round-off back hand-springs like a champ all week.
Food cravings: CAKE. I wish I craved veggies, then I could have as many as I want. But alas, I crave the confectionery moist goodness that is cake. I have indulged twice this week having a piece of vanilla pound cake each time. SO GOOOOD!
Anything making you queasy or sick: OK, so I haven’t been nauseous since around week 10, but out of the blue this week, I became really nauseated. It didn’t last long though. I also can’t eat loaf bread because it makes me feel like I’ve swallowed a ball of nails. Since I’ve removed it from my diet, I haven’t had heart burn as bad. I initially thought “Crap, I’ve developed a gluten intolerance.” However, I can eat other wheat products pain-free. There’s just something about loaf bread. Weird.
Gender: GIRL
Labor Signs: NO! Praise Jesus!
Belly Button in or out? In
Rings on or off? On!
Happy or Moody: GRUMPY, probably because I’m tired all the time. My husband doesn’t seem to think so. RIGHT, HONEY?! Haha.

Reading: I’m still reading through Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin, and this week I’ve started The Baby Book by the Sears family. I’ve found both to be very easy reads, as well as incredibly informative. I do not think that I’ll finish the Drs. Sears’s book before she come, because it so exhaustive and contains info into toddlerhood. I want to stay ahead of where baby is supposed to be developing, but not so far that I forget where she is supposed to be. So now I’m focusing on labor and delivery, and the first year. One thing I really liked that he said in this book, is that parenting begins before birth. I’ve felt like a parent since I found out that I was pregnant, and some people have tried to make me feel less than that.

How are my fellow preggo mommy’s feeling? Have any of you been super tired in your second trimester?

Leave a Reply

