PREGNANCY:23 Weeks


23 Weeks 5 Days

23 Weeks 5 Days

How far along? 23 weeks and 5 Days in this picture.

Total weight gain: +10lbs. I haven’t gained anything this week. A lady that my mom works with that I haven’t seen in a while said she thought I was looking a little “puffy” right after my mom told her that I was pregnant. PUFFY. Really, lady. I’m nearly 6 months pregnant, what’s your excuse? Why do people think it’s OK to comment on your size when you’re pregnant? I feel pretty awesome about myself most of the time until someone absent-mindedly says something like that.
Maternity clothes? Not this week, thank you oh mighty belly bands.
Stretch marks? NONE!
Sleep: It’s okie dokie. Rosa, my beloved body pillow offers amazing support.
Best moment this week: Two date nights with my husband. 😉
Miss Anything?: The streak of warm weather that my region had last week.
Movement: Lots and lots. I felt her have the hiccups for the first time this week. Usually she just kicks and does so pretty hard, her daddy actually got to see her kicking my belly this week, but one night this week it wasn’t as hard and it was very rhythmic.
Food cravings:  I actually haven’t really had a huge craving for anything. I wanted hot wings on Monday, and some sour skittles some other day, but neither of those were really consistent.
Anything making you queasy or sick: I still can’t eat most breads, I discovered that even certain pastas make my tummy turn.
Gender: GIRL
Labor Signs: BRING ON THE BRAXTON HICKS! I was at my in-laws earlier in the week sitting at their table when all of the sudden I felt this tightness in my right side. I turned to my husband and told him I needed to walk around. My stomach became as hard as a rock, and it was uncomfortable for about 10 minutes. It didn’t really hurt though. I’ve had at least one almost every night since.
Belly Button in or out? In, but I feel like it’s getting bigger.
Rings on or off? On!
Happy or Moody: I’m over all happy, but my hormones are like a river at this point. Sometimes they’re rapid and furious while other times they are steady and calm.

Reading: Finished Spiritual Midwifery, read some in the Baby Book, and reserved a couple of books at the library for pick up this weekend! I’ve also been reading through the Psalms throughout the last month over breakfast. It’s a great way to start the day.

I can’t believe that I’ll be 6 months pregnant on Sunday!! WHERE HAS THE TIME GONE? Also, My baby now weighs over a pound! WHAT?! I hope she’s a little chubster.

Thank you for reading! How did/do you deal with rude comments from people throughout pregnancy?

4 thoughts on “PREGNANCY:23 Weeks

  1. Oh man Braxton Hicks suck – I’ve gotten 30+ a DAY since about week 23 – though carrying 2 and my uterus expanding much faster probably has a lot to do with that!
    Maybe you should tell the next lady that tells you to look puffy that she does, too. 😉 hahaha

  2. I was really disappointed in Ina May’s spiritual outlook in Spiritual Midwifery although her stories are amazing! I very much recommend ina may’s guide to childbirth, however. It is much less new age and a lot more practical. Also Husband Coached Childbirth is a must read!

    • I agree about Spiritual Midwifery. I did enjoy all of the positive birth stories though. I’ve read so many horror stories that that aspect of the book was really a relief. I have Husband Coached Childbirth on reserve at the library! I can’t for us to read it.

Leave a Reply

