PREGNANCY:33 Weeks


33 Weeks 6 Days

                                                              33 Weeks 6 Days

How far along? 33 weeks and 6 Days in this picture.

Total weight gain: +22.5lbs. I’m expecting to explode next week since I didn’t gain anything this week.

Maternity clothes? Not in this pic.

Stretch marks? NONE!

Sleep: A little better this week!

Best moment this week: Finishing the baby’s room!! My sweet mother helped me finish organizing and putting things away.

Miss Anything?: Not really

Movement: Still lots of movement. She’s so strong!

Food cravings: Buttered toast. I think I need some vitamin A or something (Most butter contains beta carotene, btw!) because I like butter OK, but normally I’m fine just having dry toast. This week I’ve probably eaten half a loaf of bread toasted and buttered. Paula Dean would be so proud!

Anything making you queasy or sick? Not really.

Gender: GIRL

Labor Signs: Yeah, so Monday (Memorial day) as we were out visiting, I started having contractions every seven minutes lasting approximately 50 seconds. I went home, laid on my left side, drank water, and slept. This made them go away.

Thursday evening during dinner, the same thing started happening, so I went home and did the routine and was fine. Friday afternoon, I was out shopping with my mom, and in the grocery store they started coming on strong. This day they were kind of uncomfortable. So I went home, laid down, drank my water, and thought they’d go away.

Wrong. They got stronger, so I started timing them. I had them coming at about every six to eight minutes lasting about 40 seconds, so I decided it was time to call the Dr. The nurse told me to go to labor and delivery at the hospital to be monitored. I was a little nervous because I didn’t want to be like those women you see in movies who rush off to the hospital, only to be made to feel stupid because there was really nothing going on. My mom reassured me not to feel bad and that I was making the right decision which I appreciated.

But I went and they hooked me up and started measuring my contractions which were indeed coming every six to eight minutes. I was kind of proud that for one I recognized I was having contractions and two that I had them timed out perfectly. So after 45 minutes of just laying there drinking water, they decided to check my cervix for dilation. I had not had this done, so I expecting it to be like a regular vaginal exam. Wrong again. OUCH is all I’m going to say. Fortunately there was no change, so they ruled out pre-term labor. PRAISE JESUS.

Next they wanted to see if I was dehydrated, so into the little cup I peed. No signs of anything, dehydration or anything else (I probably drink close to a gallon a day of water), so that was ruled out as causing my contractions. So they told me I had the option of taking some drug that I am unfamiliar with or trying benadryl. I opted for the benadryl which I am all too familiar with from taking it in a sleep aid for so long. They said that it would relax the smooth muscles of my uterus and cause the contractions to subside. I took 25mg of the stuff and laid down at home. It definitely helped deter them from being so regular, but I still had a few over the course of two hours.

All in all, I just have to rest as much as possible over these next couple of weeks and call the Dr. if I start having the same type of contractions.

Belly Button in or out? In, but it’s s t r e t c h i n g.

Rings on or off? On!

Happy or Moody: Mostly happy, a little worried, but feeling blessed to have made it to week 34!

Reading: Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way which contains a lot of naked women FYI, but the material is very helpful, and we’re about to start Christ Centered Childbirth.

Leave a Reply

