PREGNANCY:36 Weeks-9MONTHS


36 weeks 5 days

36 weeks 5 days

How far along? 36 weeks and 5 Days in this picture.

Total weight gain: +26lbs.

Maternity clothes? Not in this pic. I pretty much wear workout clothes all the time, but this day I had a lunch date with my husband so I wanted to dress up a bit.

Stretch marks? NONE! I’ve read about some women getting them at 38 weeks so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Sleep: What sleep? Well I slept really well Friday night, and that was it. All other nights I do not sleep until about 4:00 am. My mom has called me a couple of mornings this week around 10:30-11:00am and I’ve still been asleep. I hate sleeping in, but I’m trying to get it where I can.

Best moment this week: Hearing baby girl’s heartbeat, learning that she is still head down, and that I’m 50% effaced and nearly 2cm dilated! All these contractions have done a little work. I’ve also been taking about 1000mg of Evening Primrose Oil and drinking red raspberry leaf tea like a fiend.

Miss Anything?: Not really

Movement: Her movements are slowing down a bit it seems. I still feel her every hour, but sheโ€™s not quite as active.

Food cravings: Nothing really this week.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Not really.

Gender: GIRL

Labor Signs: Well I was kind of excited on Saturday because we had a supermoon, which is supposed to be the grandaddy of full moons. My husband and I had plans to hit up the farmer’s market and run some other errands, but before we left the house I started having some major pelvic pressure and contractions. I’m used to the contractions at this point, but not paired with this pressure that I’ve been having this week.

It is a pressure that I feel in my groin muscles as well as my lower back and at times it can be quite uncomfortable. Bouncing on the birth ball seems to help. I haven’t felt this before this week, so on Saturday when I started contracting and having this pressure I made the mistake of getting my hopes up.

I had contractions that were about 7 minutes apart and fairly intense ALL DAY long. They stopped at about midnight maybe? I woke up periodically throughout the night with contractions, but they were not that intense and were not consistent. So today I’ve only had a few contractions and a little pressure. Nothing to get excited about. I do not think that I will know when I’m in the early stages of labor….

Belly Button in or out? In for the most part. The bottom part of it sometime pokes out like a pouting lip.

Rings on or off? On when Iโ€™m not too hot. I’m thinking about taking them off just in case I swell like a balloon in these final days. It’s getting hotter and hotter outside, and I swell tremendously when I’m hot.

Happy or Moody: Happy. Irritable. Cranky. Energized. Restless.

Reading: Christ Centered Childbirth which is so encouraging, and I decided to pick up Childbirth Without Fear by Grantly Dick-Read. He was referenced pretty heavily in the Bradley books, so I thought Iโ€™d give it whirl. I find it very interesting the psychology behind how fear makes pain so much worse. I can recognize it in my life, and I am preparing myself to not allow fear into the birthing room.

I must exude an air of misery or discomfort because everywhere I go I seem to get asked “how long do you have?” To which I want to respond “If I could tell you I would.” I pretty much refuse to tell anyone my due date since less than 5% of babies are born on their due date, yet people still ask. So I say she can come at anytime over these next couple of weeks.

My doctor says that there’s a chance that she can come early. Maybe?! All of the babies in my family were born more than a week before their due date, and I’m probably putting too much pressure on myself, but if I go to 40 weeks I will become convinced that I am adopted. I’m trying not to pressure myself or let anyone else pressure me.

I’m kind of obsessed with my belly, probably because I think it’s about as big as it’s going to get, and it no longer feels like it’s going to rip open. It’s kind of my favorite thing right now, so here are some pics of it.

36 Weeks 005

image

Front shot of the belly. The linea negra seems to keep growing. I think my naval looks like an eye.

4 thoughts on “PREGNANCY:36 Weeks-9MONTHS

  1. I don’t want to burst your bubble, but my stretch marks didn’t show up until my stomach shrunk back down. It was such a tease to go through the whole pregnancy and then have them show up a few weeks post partum instead (though for the record, they aren’t bad). Heres hoping that doesn’t happen to you!

  2. I’m obsessed with your belly too!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ As someone who always goes to at least 41 weeks… Just try to enjoy these last few weeks of having her all to yourself. Soon you’ll be sharing her with everyone and watching her grow and it’s just so bittersweet. You’re beautiful and you’ve done such a wonderful job!

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m trying so hard to enjoy it, but I’m getting so anxious because I want to see her face probably more than anything right now. This whole not having any control over it is a tough lesson to learn. Haha.

Leave a Reply

